

To Mr. Josep Borrell HR/VP of the European Commission Rue de la Loi 200 / Wetstraat 200 1040 Brussels, Belgium

Brussels, October 11, 2020

Object: International support for the Armenian people of Nagorno-Karabakh

Mr. High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice-President of the European Commission,

The military aggression against Nagorno-Karabakh carried out by the armed forces of Azerbaijan with Turkish backing has turned this region of the world into war.

The disproportion of forces is overwhelming, and yet the fighters of Nagorno Karabakh resist with the energy of people who know their survival is at stake.

Only the expression of strong international solidarity will prevent what can only end in massacre, if the Armenian defences are damaged. Azerbaijan must be forced to cease its military aggression, to return to the ceasefire line in force since 1994, and to re-join the negotiating table opened by the Minsk group for a lasting peace.

The undersigned Members of the European Parliament urge the European authorities:

- To denounce the aggressor in this relaunch of the conflict, Azerbaijan, whose armed forces violated the ceasefire, which had ensured an end to fighting for almost thirty years;

- To condemn the interference by Turkey, which poses the threat of future aggression of Armenia, a logical consequence of the offensive launched today against Nagorno-Karabakh. The memory of the Armenian genocide of 1915 cannot be forgotten;

- To launch a humanitarian operation for the benefit of the populations affected by the systematic bombardments of areas inhabited by civilians.

- To declare that the Armenian people have a historically centuries-old presence in the territory of Artzakh, and to initiate the recognition of the Republic of Artzakh as an independent nation, which will allow its effective international protection against further attacks.

Looking forward to hearing from you, we ask you to receive our most respectful greetings.

ALFONSI Francois (Greens/EFA); BARRENA Pernando (GUE/NGL); BELLAMY Francois-Xavier (EPP); BITEAU Benoit (Greens/EFA); BOURGEOIS Geert (ECR); CASTALDO Fabio Massimo (NI); COMIN I OLIVERES Antoni (NI); CORRAO Ignazio (NI); EPPINK Derk-Jan (ECR); FREUND Daniel



(Greens/EFA); GEORGOULIS Alexis (GUE/NGL); GEUKING Helmut (ECR); GROSELJ Klemen (Renew); GRUFFAT Claude (Greens/EFA); GUILLAUME Sylvie (S&D); INCIR Evin (S&D); KAILI Eva (S&D); KANKO Assita (ECR); KOULOGLOU Stelios (GUE/NGL); MEBAREK Nora (S&D); MELCHIOR Karen (Renew); PONSATI Clara (NI); PUIGDEMONT Carles (NI); RIBA I GINER Diana (Greens/EFA); RIVASI Michèle (Greens/EFA); ROOKEN Rob (ECR); ROOKMAKER Dorien (NI); ROOS Rob (ECR); SMERIGLIO Massimiliano (S&D); SOLÉ Jordi (Greens/EFA); VAN DALEN Peter (PPE); VAN OVERTVELDT Johan (ECR); VINCZE Lorant (PPE); ŽDANOKA Tatjana (Greens/EFA).